Attorney General Headshot
Attorney General Seal

Government Accountability Board

The South Dakota Government Accountability Board was created in 2017. Pursuant to SDCL 3-24-1, the Board consists of four members appointed by the Governor. Each member is a former or retired circuit court judge or Supreme Court Justice.  Currently appointed to the Board are:

  • Judge David Gienapp, retired (current vice chair)
  • Judge Gene Kean, retired
  • Judge Patricia Riepel, retired
  • Justice Lori Wilbur, retired (current chair)

Assistant Attorney General Katie L. Mallery is assigned to assist the Board with procedural matters.

If you wish to file a complaint with the Board, please fill out the Complaint Form, which can be found below, and mail to:

Government Accountability Board
P.O. Box 2282
Sioux Falls, SD 57101

If you have any questions regarding the Government Accountability Board please call us at (605) 367-5880 ext. 103.

Complaint Form

Complaint Procedure

Government Accountability Board Agendas

Meeting Minutes

SDCL 3-24 State Government Accountability Board statutes

2017 Annual Report

2018 Annual Report

Final Minutes

September 19, 2017

October 16, 2017

November 16, 2017